Ohio Aviation Association Annual Awards

The OAA Annual Awards honor Ohio aviation industry leaders who have made outstanding contributions to furthering the goals of aviation in Ohio. You are invited to nominate individuals or organizations in one or more of the categories listed below. Recipients are honored at the Annual Ohio Aviation Conference each year. Join us at our Annual Conference ceremony held during the conference May 2-4, 2023!  

Submission Requirements

Any OAA member or organizational member in good standing may nominate an individual or an organization. To make the most of your nomination, provide a concise statement as to why your nominee should be recognized. Tell us how they exemplify the goals and ideals of the Ohio Aviation Association!  If your nominee is selected, we will notify you and the nominee and begin working on a video for the Annual Conference presentation.  Nominations are only accepted via online submittals.
Click Here for the Online
Nomination Form

Award Categories

Below are the Annual Award categories.  Awards require a nomination and because of that, not all awards are presented each year.  Additionally, more than one award may be given in any category. Good luck!

Airport of the Year

It takes teamwork to propel an airport toward its mission and goals. This award honors an airport whose leadership (management, airport authority board, county commissioners, or similar) has put into practice the association's mission of promoting aviation through communications, exchanging of ideas and information, and participating in experiences within its community and/or among the industry. This award is an acknowledgment of airport leadership that has made extraordinary accomplishments in moving its individual airport program forward and/or moving Ohio aviation forward. Nominees must be an OAA member in good standing.

Airport Manager of the Year

Every airport must be managed properly, but it takes a special person to look beyond the daily tasks and work to move an airport to greater heights. This award honors an individual who has demonstrated sustainable and/or significant contributions to their airport and a positive impact on the industry. This individual has continuously exemplified OAA’s mission and goals, as well as the growth and development of the airport industry in Ohio. Nominees must be an OAA member in good standing.

Aviator of the Year Award

A true passion for airports and aviation is easy to recognize in a person when they not only consider the needs of their airport but also demonstrate overall care and support for the industry. This award recognizes an individual who has been an outstanding champion, spokesperson, innovator, and/or advocate for aviation in Ohio. The recipient of this award has demonstrated support through avenues such as policymaking, research, business development, technical assistance, and/or community relations that have been pivotal in Ohio or beyond. Nominees must be an OAA member in good standing.

Airport Business of the Year

This award honors an airport/aviation-related business that has demonstrated support of and furthering of an Ohio community through airport/aviation development. This business has demonstrated a significant positive economic impact on a community and/or the aviation workforce through investment in infrastructure and/or human capital. Nominees need not be an OAA member.

OAA Business Member of the Year 

It takes many to make an airport, airport project, or airport program successful. It takes direct suppliers to have the right supplies at the right time. It takes consulting service providers that listen, respond, and help guide airports through processes that are not always easy. It takes a special drive to understand our airports’ needs and help them meet that need -- and beyond. It takes a dedication to airports and aviation. This award honors an Ohio Aviation Association Business Member who has gone above and beyond in their support of an airport(s) in Ohio and continues to make airports stronger.  If you are not sure if the Business is a Member of OAA, please contact OAA to inquire at [email protected]. Nominees must be an OAA Business Member in good standing.

Aviation Student of the Year

Ohio’s aviation industry success depends upon the engagement of its future leaders. This award recognizes an aviation student member, enrolled at an Ohio university, for demonstrating leadership, service, and dedication to advancing their education in an aviation trade. Nominees must be an OAA student member in good standing.

Legislator of the Year (Awarded at the Legislative Reception in November/December)

This award honors a State of Ohio Legislator that has demonstrated support and leadership in the advancement of Ohio’s airports through specific legislation, programming, and/or policy matters at the State Level.